You’re moving where?

Standard

A little background on how we got here.

At the beginning of 2015, the hubby stumbled upon a really great job opportunity in St. Louis, MO. He had interviewed with several companies in lots of other places throughout the country, so I responded with a well- why NOT? Thinking it would just be another company he would interview with. So here we are 6 months later and well- we are moving from California to Missouri in a matter of weeks. YIKES! What’s a Cali girl like myself to do? Pull up my big girl panties, hitch up the wagon and go. And so begins the adventure.

I’ve decided to start this blog because we have a really great big circle of wonderfully amazing family and friends who we are going to deeply miss and try to keep in contact with as best as we can and they are also very curious as to how this Cali family is going to adjust to life in the Mid-West. The blog will also be great therapy for me as I transition to a completely different way of life. And so I will try to write and post pictures of what are sure to be some very funny, emotional and reflective stories.

I will confess that I just visited St. Louis last week for the first time and boy was it a culture shock. I mean, it took me a few days just to process it all. WOW. Dorothy, we were definitely not in California anymore. One thing that really struck me was how slow everything and everyone moves there. They don’t have the rush, grit or hustle bustle of Los Angeles. It is very quiet in a way that I am not accustomed to. Upon my return home to LA, I commented to a friend- well- I just don’t know what I am going to do over there. It’s just so slow and quiet. We giggled and I said – well- perhaps I’ll take up sewing and take it back to the “Little House” days- where you spent a lot of your time inside your log cabin. And my friend said- well that’s just darn perfect- the name of your new blog- “Little House in Missouri.”

And so here we go. Welcome to Team Jackson’s adventures in Little House in Missouri!

8 responses »

  1. I love this!!! Instagram and Facebook are great but nothing like a blog to really connect with you while you’re away from us! Can’t wait to read the stories. Love you guys.

    Like

  2. Brilliant way for all of us who hold you dear in our hearts to stay engaged in your life.
    On the occasion of your new adventure, I am sending you an old Irish blessing:

    May love and laughter light your days,
    and warm your heart and home.
    May good and faithful friends be yours,
    wherever you may roam.
    May peace and plenty bless your world
    with joy that long endures.
    May all life’s passing seasons
    bring the best to you and yours!

    Like

  3. Liz, what a great adventure! My sister Chris lives in saint Louis. She looks just like me. She works at a Home Depot at the service desk, so if you are there and you think ” is that robin??” Go say hi it’s my sister!! She is a great resource. She has raised 5 boys there and knows the ins and outs of the city for kids! I can hook you guys up if you want me to. Let me know!
    Good luck. It’s going to be great!!
    Pittsburgh is only a road trip away! Come visit anytime. Your guys can stay with us!

    Robin

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I commend you for being the Trailblazing Wifey ! I knew exactly how you might have felt during the Big Move. I am feeling it right now. I’m glad that you really decided to push through your Blog or else I wouldn’t have met you! Thanks Liz.
    Culture shock or whatever shock it may be, i know all those are real so its good that we have an outlet to overcome these things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad we met too! So happy to be getting to know others who are going through the same roller coaster ride! I know how you feel- hang in there and we will get through it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

